WVGS Member Announcements December 2019

Proposed Bylaws Revisions
Notice: Recently the WVGS Board of Directors proposed a bylaw change. The proposed changes are

  • Article VIII Section 2. Election of Directors: change the wording …to ” a slate of minimum of one candidate” from among members.
  • Article IX Fiscal Year: to state both fiscal and operational will be from January 1 to December 31.

Annual Meeting
The WVGS annual meeting will be held via video conference on January 8, 2020.

WVGS Board Member Election
Below is the list of the nominees for 2020 membership of the West Virginia Geriatric Society. Please select one candidate and cast your vote here. The deadline to cast your ballot is January 5, 2020.

Rajesh Gopalarathinam, MD 
After completing my residency training at Allegheny General Hospital from July 2014 to June 2017, I continued to pursue a year of fellowship training in geriatrics at University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center. I then joined work at Marshall University Joan Edwards School of medicine as assistant professor of Internal Medicine and Geriatric Medicine in September 2018.  I have a great interest in teaching clinical medicine to resident physicians and medical students in training. My areas of clinical interest include outpatient primary care medicine, musculoskeletal disorders and dementia.

Saurabh P. Mehta, PT, MSc, PhD
Saurabh Mehta has been a physical therapy professional for over 20 years. He has practiced and taught in physical therapy programs in India, Canada, and the USA. He obtained his entry-level Bachelor’s degree in Physiotherapy from India and went on to complete Research-based Master’s Degree in Rehabilitation Sciences from the University of Manitoba and PhD in Rehabilitation from McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. Dr. Mehta holds active physical therapy license in the State of West Virginia. He has been working as an faculty member in the Marshall University School of Physical Therapy (MUSOPT) since August 2013 and also holds an appointment of Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Orthopedic Surgery, Marshall University School of Medicine from September 2013. He also practices as a physical therapist at St. Mary’s Medical Center in Huntington, WV. Dr. Mehta is a member of Marshall University Faculty Senate and also serves across multiple committees within the College of Health Profession as well as MUSOPT, including being a Chair of Faculty Search Committee within the MUSOPT.  Dr. Mehta remains active nationally in our profession with memberships in the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) and also within the Academies of Research, Orthopedics, and Upper Extremity and Hand Rehabilitation. Especially, he serves as a member of Research Committee of the Academy of Upper Extremity and Hand Rehabilitation of the APTA. Dr. Mehta has published over 40 peer-reviewed research articles in national and international journals in the areas of musculoskeletal health in elderly, rehabilitation after wrist injuries, and outcomes after total knee replacement. Dr. Mehta leads the Clinical Practice Guideline Development Group for Rehabilitation of Wrist Fractures which is under the auspices of the Academy of Orthopedics, APTA. Dr. Mehta is also a part of International Group of Scientists who are collectively developing Core Outcome Set of elbow injuries. Dr. Mehta proudly calls West Virginia his adopted home and would be extremely honored to serve in the West Virginia Geriatric Society.

Lisa Nord, R. PH.
Professor Lisa Nord received her Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from Ohio Northern University in Ada, Ohio. After graduation, she worked for two years as a staff pharmacist at The Toledo Hospital in Toledo, Ohio. After her husband’s graduation from law school, they moved to Huntington where Lisa joined Cabell Huntington Hospital, where she spent almost 25 years of her career first as a staff pharmacist, then assistant director, and ultimately director of pharmacy. Prior to coming to Marshall in 2016, she was a consultant pharmacist and pharmacist-in-charge for a local long term care pharmacy.

During her time at Cabell Huntington, Lisa was involved in the development of medication and patient safety initiatives, was an active member of multiple interdisciplinary teams addressing medication errors, adverse reactions and the medication use process, and management of a pharmacy staff of 52 employees.

Lisa is a member of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists, the West Virginia Society of Health System Pharmacists, from which she received the 2005 Pharmacist of the Year Award, and the American Pharmacists Association. She serves as faculty advisor for APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) here at Marshall, and coordinates Phar819 Long Term Care of the Patient in collaboration with the Huntington VAMC.  She is also Co-Director for the School’s co-curricular activities with  Dr. Chris Booth.